Home News & Upcoming Events News
New IAP Executive Committee elected
admin 2016.03.23

During the IAP (the global network of science academies) General Assembly that took place in Hermanus, South Africa, on 2 March 2016, Krishan Lal, was elected as co-chair representing developing countries. Lal is former president of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA) and currently president of the Asian Association of Science Societies and Academies (AASSA), IAP’s regional network for the Asia/Pacific region. Representing industrialized countries, Volker ter Meulen, Germany, was re-elected.

Among the regular Executive Committee members, the academies of Brazil, Canada, Cuba, Japan and South Africa were re-elected for second terms. They are joined by six newly elected academies representing three industrialized countries, two developing countries plus the continent-wide African Academy of Sciences.

The full IAP Executive Committee, 2016-2019, is therefore:


Volker ter Meulen (Germany)

Krishan Lal (India)

Members: Developing countries

African Academy of Sciences

Brazilian Academy of Sciences

Academia Chilena de Ciencias

Cuban Academy of Sciences

Academy of the Islamic Republic of Iran

Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)

Members: Industrialized countries

Australian Academy of Science

Royal Society of Canada

Science Council of Japan (SCJ)

Korean Academy of Science and Technology (KAST)

Royal Society, UK

Click to open the IAP website

AASSA, The Association of Academies and Societies of Sciences in Asia
Back to top